more from
Friendship Fever

Sea Grave

by Loud Sun

  • Streaming + Download

    Pre-order of Sea Grave. The moment the album is released you’ll get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus a high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    releases September 8, 2017

      $8 USD  or more


So Long April
Teen Pyramids
Blooming Arrow
Like A Kid
Heaven Was Enough
Gorgeous Bull
Accidents (Scared Straight)
Fear The Lower Mind
You Go I Miss
Just Passing By


Loud Sun is Andrew Jansen – a naturalist, a musician, and a songwriter who’s been self-releasing music in various forms since the early 2000’s. With Loud Sun, Andrew combines rock, folk, psychedelic, punk and elements of electronic music. "Sea Grave," Loud Sun’s latest effort, is a story of departure, loss and the time in between.

Partially self-recorded in Oakland, California and finished in Minneapolis, Minnesota, "Sea Grave" is largely comprised of melodic bedroom pop with experimental, garage, and ’60s influences. “Some songs were started in my laundry room studio in Oakland, and everything was polished up in my basement in Minneapolis,” says Jansen. “Writing and recording are pretty intertwined.”

Fans of Atlas Sound, the Microphones, Floating Action, and Elf Power should take note. The songs feel familiar, while also new and experimental. It’s homeopathic and self-medicated. Loud Sun is Andrew’s creative workshop. He emits lo-fi thoughts with the relaxed precedent of musicianship in the forefront.

“I use nature, water and songwriting to stay sane. It’s a way to process life and transcend it. I’ve also found new love and a new sense of peace with being in the Midwest. There’s an optimism here and a smooth, tender hustle when you find your groove.”

"Sea Grave" is an emotional road map. When was the last time you listened to a record from start to finish? This is one of those records. “If the listener is happy, I hope this makes them happier. And if they’re sad, it makes them sadder, but in a purposeful, integrating way. I hope it makes them cry or feel loved. I hope it makes them want to find love.”

"Sea Grave" will be available on cassette and digitally September 8, 2017 from Friendship Fever.


releases September 8, 2017

Written, recorded and produced by Andrew Jansen in Oakland, CA and Minneapolis, MN between 2015-2017.
All instruments played by Andrew Jansen.
Crowd vocals and claps on “Blooming Arrow” include Emily Kastrul, Matt Bolin, Lucy Geach, Mark Savori and Leo Savori can be heard in the far background.
Whistling on “So Long April” by Matt Bedrosian.
Cover art by Jess Hirsch.



all rights reserved


Loud Sun Minneapolis, Minnesota


contact / help

Contact Loud Sun

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code